Public Holidays are a national treasure as there are so many of them each year!! They include a mix of religious Roman Catholic, national and regional ones and are taken on the exact day they fall whether that be midweek or weekend. The holiday is not moved to the Monday or Friday to create three day weekends as is often done in other countries. This means that a large percentage of people take days off, a ‘puente’ which means bridge, to create long weekends which last for four or five days! Known as ‘red days’, each municipality is allowed to have a maximum of 14 public holidays per year; a maximum of 9 of these are chosen by the national government and at least 2 are chosen locally.
During a public holiday in Spain everything except the bars, cafes, restaurants, emergency services and a handful of shops like petrol stations close down. Nothing is open, so make sure you have planned for the national and regional Public Holidays!
There are many local Public Holidays plus the ‘Dia de Valencia’ which is observed in the province of Valencia only and is on the 9th October. The Public Holidays which are observed in all regions of Spain are:
January 1st
New Years Day
January 6th
March 19th
Fathers Day
Maundy Thursday
Date varies depending on easter
Good Friday
Date varies depending on easter
Easter Monday
Date varies depending on easter
May 1st
Labour Day
August 15th
Assumption Day
October 12th
Hispanic Day
November 1st
All Saints Day
December 6th
Constitution Day
December 8th
Immaculate Conception Day
December 25th
Christmas Day